FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 10, 2015

Contact:

Katy Katzman Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board Coordinator 262-903-6727 katzman@idcnet.com

Junior Exhibitors Recognized at Dairyland Youth Celebration

The Dairyland Youth Celebration, held last weekend at Wisconsin State Fair Park, celebrated the accomplishments of the more than 600 exhibitors that participated in the junior dairy and junior dairy goat shows at the 2015 Wisconsin State Fair.

Presented by the Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board, event sponsors included: ABS Global, Accelerated Genetics, AgSource, American Wood Fibers, Andis Company, Animart, Badgerland Financial, Brown Swiss Canton I, Case IH, Coburn Company, Culver's, East Central Select Sires, Giant Slide, Grasch Foods, Nasco, Prairie Farms Dairy, Swiss Valley Farms, UW-Madison Department of Dairy Science, Valero, WALSSA, WE Energies, Wisconsin Ayrshire Breeders Association, Wisconsin Dairy Goat Association, Wisconsin Junior Holstein Association, Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, Wisconsin Milking Shorthorn Breeders Association, Wisconsin State Fair, Wisconsin State Fair Park Foundation, World Dairy Expo and Zeeland Farm Services.

The Supreme Champion of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show was the Grand Champion Jersey – Musqie Iatola Martha-ET – exhibited by Shelby Ostrom of Brown County. Ostrom received a \$1,000 cash prize made possible through the generous support of Dairyland Youth Celebration sponsors.

The Reserve Supreme Champion of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show was the Grand Champion Holstein – Milksource Durham Giggle-ET – exhibited by Chloe Vosters of Outagamie County. Vosters received a \$1,000 cash prize made possible through the generous support of Dairyland Youth Celebration sponsors.

The Supreme Champion Showperson of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show was 12-year-old Abigail Powers of Dunn County. Powers competed against more than 600 exhibitors to earn this coveted title and received a \$1,000 cash prize possible through the generous support of Dairyland Youth Celebration sponsors.

The Best Doe in the Show, representing the Wisconsin Junior Dairy Goat Show, was exhibited by Becky Shilts of Rock County, while the Supreme Champion Showperson of the Junior Dairy Goat Show was 19-year-old Hannah Shilts of Rock County. Each received a \$1,000 cash prize made possible through the generous support of Dairyland Youth Celebration sponsors.

Other exhibitors receiving a \$1,000 cash prize:

Grand Champion Ayrshire: Grandview Burdette Dime

Exhibitor: Kenzie Emery, Jefferson County

Grand Champion Brown Swiss: Random Luck S Peekaboo-ET

Exhibitor: Meghan Douglas, Lafayette County

Grand Champion Guernsey: Adams Creek Prada Macy

Exhibitor: Alyssa Nuttleman, LaCrosse County

Grand Champion Milking Shorthorn: Mi-San Acres Othello Lulu

Exhibitor: Tyler Endres, Columbia County

Grand Champion Red & White: Rosedale 2 Hot 2 Handle-Red-ET

Exhibitor: Carley Krull, Jefferson County

Other exhibitors recognized during the Dairyland Youth Celebration included:

WI State Fair Dairy Promotion Board \$1,000 Scholarship Recipients

- · Ciera Ballmer, Janesville
- · Lindsey Hellenbrand, Cross Plains
- · Courtney McCourt, St. Cloud
- · Nicole Pralle, Humbird
- · Emily Rebhan, Richland Center
- · Lauren Sipple, Denmark

- · Jessica Wendt, Stoughton
- Kaila Wussow, Cecil

James W. Crowley Leadership Award Finalists

- Trent Dado, Polk County Scholarship Recipient
- Nicole Pralle, Clark County Scholarship Recipient
- Kaila Wussow, Shawano County Scholarship Recipient
- Maria Balbach, Lafayette County
- · Amber Cafferty, Buffalo County
- · Allison Foster, Columbia County
- Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County
- · Paige Hoesly, Green County
- · Matthew Kramer, Fond du Lac County
- Courtney Moser, Vernon County
- · Dawson Nickels, Dodge County
- Emma Olstad, Dane County
- · David Pintens, Barron County
- · Krista Styer, Dunn County
- · Beth Yanke, Sauk County

Dairy Premier Exhibitor Contest Winners

Judging – Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Manitowoc County Quiz – Lizi Endres, Dane County Skillathon – Lizi Endres, Dane County

- 1 Lizi Endres, Dane County
- 2 Laura Jensen, Polk County
- 3 Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Manitowoc County
- 4 Kristen Broege, Rock County
- 5 Charlie Hamilton, Grant County
- 6 Allie Breunig, Dane County
- 7 Ethan Dado, Polk County
- 8 Carley Krull, Jefferson County
- 9 Alyssa Nuttleman, LaCrosse County
- 10 Rachel Coyne, Pierce County

Dairy Goat Premier Exhibitor Contest Winners

Judging – Mason Spencer, Rock County Quiz – Hannah Shilts, Rock County Skillathon – Lyndsay Fenner, Sheboygan County

- 1 Hannah Shilts, Rock County
- 2 Becky Shilts, Rock County
- 3 Lyndsay Fenner, Sheboygan County
- 4 Shawn Lamers, Calumet County
- 5 Mason Spencer, Rock County
- 6 Arica Kite, Racine County
- 7 Rachael Leystra, Columbia County
- 8 Kim Van Donsel, Kewaunee County
- 9 Charlene Robinson, Kewaunee County
- 10 Esther Considine, Columbia County

Production Winners

- Brown Swiss Leif Thompson, Vernon County
- Guernsey Jenna Langrehr, LaCrosse County
- Holstein Hannah Ullom, Chippewa County
- Jersey Fritzy Ullom, Chippewa County
- Red & White Nicole Pralle, Clark County

Showmanship Winners

Each of these individuals received a gift basket provided by Nasco.

- 12-Year-Old Abigail Powers, Dunn County
- 13-Year-Old Kylie Nickels, Dodge County
- 14-Year-Old Ashley Hagenow, Columbia County

- 15-Year-Old Melissa Sprecher, Dane County
- 16-Year-Old Emma Olstad, Dane County
- 17-Year-Old Bailey Larson, Jackson County
- 18-Year-Old Megan Lauber, Racine County
- 19-Year-Old Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Manitowoc County

Education Display Winners

Each of these counties received \$100 from the Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board.

Large County

- 1 Iowa County
- 2 Wood County
- 3 Dodge County
- 4 Waukesha County
- 5 Green County
- 6 Sheboygan County
- 7 Dane County
- 8 Kewaunee County
- 9 Jefferson County
- 10 Vernon County

Small County

- 1 Dunn County
- 2 Crawford County
- 3 Manitowoc County
- 4 Juneau County
- 5 Eau Claire County
- 6 Columbia County
- 7 Waupaca County
- 8 Langlade County
- 9 Richland County
- 10 Shawano County

Dairy Goat

- 1 Columbia County
- 2 Racine County
- 3 Waukesha County

Great Northern Cup Recipient

Elizabeth Sarbacker, Dane County

George Barlass Award Recipient

Austin Nauman, Jackson County

Herdsmanship Winners - Dairy

Large County

- 1 Barron County
- 2 Kewaunee County
- 3 Dane County
- 4 Chippewa County
- 5 Polk County
- 6 Sheboygan County
- 7 Waukesha County
- 8 Vernon County
- 9 Wood County
- 10 Dodge County

Small County

- 1 Shawano County
- 2 Pierce County
- 3 Manitowoc County
- 4 Crawford County 5 – Monroe County
- 6 Clark County

7 – Sauk County 8 – Washburn County

9 - Langlade County

10 - Eau Claire County

Herdsmanship Winners – Dairy Goat

Kewaunee County Sheboygan County Waukesha County

Spirit Award Winners

Each of these winning counties received \$100, a Giant Slide ticket for each exhibitor and will have their county name placed on the Dairyland Youth Celebration Spirit Trophy, sponsored by Badgerland Financial.

Dairy – Iowa County Dairy Goat – Kewaunee County